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Q: How do | renew my last year’s rating?

A: You should have received renewal by e-mail.
Simply print out the form, review it, mark it if there
are changes, then mail it to the address shown on
the renewal form (or bring to the Annual Meeting)
along with S30 payable to FCSA.



g

PHRF Certificates

room
_m"‘;

Q: What if | didn’t receive a renewal or | have a
boat new to the area or expired rating and | wish
to obtain a new rating?

A: Download the form “Application for a PHRF
Rating” from the FCSA website www.sailjax.com.

Fill out the form then mail it to the address shown
on the application form along with fee payable to
FCSA. You will receive a new rating certificate a few
days later.



PHRF Certificate Fees

Following are the fees associated with various

situations:
— Renewal of current certificate (by Feb 1):
— Renewal of current certificate (after Feb 1):
— Change fee for current certificate:
— Temporary PHRF certificate, visiting boat:

$30
S35
S5
S5
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Q: Where do | find a list of current Certificate
Holders?
A: Go to FCSA website front page and click on

“PHRF Ratings” (red font). A current list that can be
used by Race Committees will be shown.

Q: What if | just want to explore the ratings data
base that we use?

A: Go to FCSA website front page and click on
“YRALIS PHRF Ratings”. A searchable data base can
be found at this link.
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Q: How do you raise issues, make suggestions
or ask questions about policies, rules and
ratings?

A: Inquiries should be made in writing, stating in

clear terms the issue at hand and providing
supporting data for the inquiry or request.

The written document can be e-mailed to any of the
Points of Contact shown on the FCSA website.



Frequently Asked Questions

Q: Can one-design centerboard classes like
Flying Scots and Thistles participate in FCSA
PHRF races?

A: No. The FCSA bylaws for PHRF racing prohibit
this.

Q: Can cruising multi-hull boats meeting FCSA
criteria race with single-hull boats?

A: Yes, but should race in a separate class.
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Q: Who receives the FCSA Annual Series
Trophies?

A: The Annual Series Trophies are awarded to the

Boat (by name) and the Certificate Holder, unless
Certificate Holder specifies otherwise.

Q: Can a boat race using an expired certificate?

A: FCSA does not recognize race scores from invalid

PHRF Certificates. Accepting these scores would not

be fair to those who maintain current PHRF
certificates.
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Q: Can a Performance Class Non-Spinnaker boat
fly a spinnaker?

A: No. The Non-Spinnaker Class is by definition a
class that cannot fly a spinnaker and is restricted to
using a headsail for all points of sail.

Q: Can a boat fly two headsails while racing?

A: No. The only time that two headsails may be
flown is while changing headsails.
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Q: Why are there two ratings on my certificate?

Al: The number on your PHRF certificate denoted
“Rating” (the number in bold font) is the rating used
by a boat registered in any class to fly a spinnaker,
whether it flies it or not.

A2: The rating denoted “Non-Spinnaker Rating”
applies only to boats sailing in a class that is
restricted to using a headsail for all points of sail
(Non-Spinnaker Class) or a Cruiser Class boat that
does not intend to fly a spinnaker.
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Q: Can a Cruiser Class boat fly a spinnaker?
A: Yes, but there are some rules:

1. The boat must declare whether it intends to use
the spinnaker at registration, not on the course.

2. A boat may not change its rating once it is
registered for an event and shall not use a

spinnaker if it is registered as a Non-Spinnaker
Cruiser Class boat.

3. The declaration (Spinnaker or Non-Spinnaker)
must apply for the entire Regatta or race series.
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Q: Can a Cruiser Class boat race one race with a
spinnaker and not in another? How is this
handled in the overall FCSA Series Trophies?

Al: Yes, a Cruiser Class boat may race in one event,
either a Race or a Regatta with a spinnaker in one
event and not in another.

A2: The Cruiser Class corrected times take into
account whether a boat has a spinnaker or not. The
corrected times determine the finishing position in
the Race or Regatta. The cumulative points
determine the FCSA Series Annual Trophy winners.
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Q: On a given race day, what if there is at least
one Non-Spinnaker boat registered and one
Cruiser Class boat registered but not enough
boats to have a separate Cruiser Class and a
separate Non-Spinnaker Class?

A: It will be at the discretion of the club Race
Committee to combine the boats into a single class.
Boats will be scored by FCSA toward the Annual
Series Trophies according to which class they are
registered for the event.
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Q: What are the restrictions under FCSA rules
on use of a whisker pole?

1. The whisker pole overall length must not exceed
the LP dimension.

2. The whisker pole must be attached to the mast.

It cannot be held out by hand or attached to the
rail, for example.
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Q: If thereis a dispute regarding the

classification of a boat as Cruiser Class boat,
how is it resolved?

A: FCSA provides guidelines and rules so clubs may
conduct races fairly and consistently. The FCSA
Rating Committee will resolve disputes brought to
its attention and will ultimately decide whether a

boat is included in the results for the FCSA Annual
Series Cruising Class trophies.



